Orange Alert

People

Department Chair

Faculty

tej-bhatia-portrait-original-2019-0204.jpg Tej Bhatia Professor of Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics tkbhatia@syr.edu 315.443.5374
amanda-brown-portrait-original.jpg Amanda Brown Associate Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics abrown08@syr.edu
gail-bulman-portrait-original.jpg Gail A. Bulman Associate Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics gabulman@syr.edu
jeffrey-carnes-portrait-original.jpg Jeffrey S. Carnes Associate Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jscarnes@syr.edu
joseph-denn-portrait-original.jpg Joseph Denn Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jwdenn@syr.edu
mona-eikel-pohen-portrait-original.jpg Mona Eikel-Pohen Associate Teaching Professor of German Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics meikelpo@syr.edu
kathryn-everly-portait-original-2016.jpg Kathryn A. Everly Professor of Spanish Literature and Culture and Modern Foreign Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics keverly@syr.edu
Ken Frieden Ken Frieden B.G. Rudolph Professor of Judaic Studies and William P. Tolley Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities English Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Religion kfrieden@syr.edu 315.443.3861
myrna-garcia-calderon-portrait-original.jpg Myrna García-Calderón Associate Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mygarcia@syr.edu
stefano-giannini-portrait-original.jpg Stefano Giannini Associate Professor and Interim Department Chair Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics giannini@syr.edu 315.443.2136
Christopher Green Christopher Green Associate Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cgreen10@syr.edu
Gerry Greenberg 2022 Gerald R. Greenberg Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Interim Chair of African American Studies, Humanities; Curriculum, Instruction, and Programs, Associate Professor, Russian and Linguistics A&S Administration A&S Curriculum/Instruction A&S Dean's Cabinet Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ggreenbe@syr.edu 315.443.2875
lin-guo-portrait-original.jpg Lin Guo Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lguo06@syr.edu
erika-haber-portrait-original.jpg Erika Haber Professor, Russian Program Coordinator and Undergraduate Advisor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ehaber@syr.edu
rania-habib-portrait-original.jpg Rania Habib Associate Professor, Arabic Program Coordinator, Linguistics and Arabic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rhabib@syr.edu
matthew-hammill-portrait-original.jpg Matthew Hammill Assistant Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mjhammil@syr.edu 315.443.9484
meichan-huang-portrait-original.jpg Meichan Huang, Ph.D. Assistant Teaching Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mhuang01@syr.edu
jean-jonassaint-portrait-original.jpg Jean Jonassaint Professor, French and Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jjonassa@syr.edu 315.443.5382
elizabeth-juarez-cummings-portrait-original.jpg Elizabeth Juarez-Cummings Assistant Teaching Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics enjuarez@syr.edu
Nicole Karam.jpg Nicole G. Karam Assistant Teaching Professor and French Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ngharr01@syr.edu 315.443.5900
youmie-kim-portrait-original.jpg Youmie J. Kim Assistant Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ykim27@syr.edu 315.443.9484
jaklin-kornfilt-portrait-informal.jpg Jaklin Kornfilt Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kornfilt@syr.edu 315.443.5375
robert-lally-portrait-original.JPG Robert Lally Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rlally@syr.edu
anne-leone-portrait-original.JPG Anne Leone Assistant Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aleone@syr.edu
laura-lisnyczyj-portrait-original.jpg Laura Lisnyczyj Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ladistef@syr.edu
ana-mendez-oliver-portrait-original.jpg Ana Mendez-Oliver Assistant Professor, Spanish, Hispanic Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics amendezo@syr.edu 315.443.5378
catherine-nock-portrait-original.jpg Catherine M. Nock Assistant Teaching Professor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cnock@syr.edu
corrine-occhino.jpg Corrine Occhino Assistant Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cmocchin@syr.edu
kenji-oda-portrait-original.jpg Kenji Oda Assistant Teaching Professor, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics koda100@syr.edu
Pardo Porto Cristina E. Pardo Porto Assistant Professor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cepardop@syr.edu
alicia-rios-portrait-original.JPG Alicia B. Ríos Associate Professor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics abrios@syr.edu
denis-samburskiy-portrait-original.jpeg Denis Samburskiy Associate Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dsamburs@syr.edu
m-emma-ticio-queseda-portrait-original.JPG M. Emma Ticio Quesada Associate Professor, Spanish and Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mticioqu@syr.edu
Tsen.png Darwin Han-Lin Tsen Assistant Teaching Professor of Chinese; Chinese Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dhtsen@syr.edu
matthieu-h-van-der-meer-portrait-original.jpg Matthieu Herman van der Meer Associate Teaching Professor, Classics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mhvander@syr.edu
karina-von-tippelskirch-portrait-original.jpg Karina von Tippelskirch Associate Professor, German Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kvontipp@syr.edu 315.443.5383
tomoko-walter-portrait-original.jpg Tomoko Walter Instructor, Japanese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics tmwalter@syr.edu
amy-wyngaard-portrait-original.JPG Amy S. Wyngaard Professor of French and Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aswyngaa@syr.edu 315.443.5496
seungmin-yun-portrait-original-informal.jpg Seungmin Yun Associate Teaching Professor of English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) and Korean Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics syun101@syr.edu

Part-Time Faculty

miryam-bar-portrait-original.jpg Miryam Bar Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mbarshes@syr.edu
maria-rita-barbarino-250X250.jpg Maria Rita Barbarino Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mrbarbar@syr.edu
rosa-benavides-portrait-original.JPG Rosa Benavides Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rmbenavi@syr.edu
patricia-burak-portrait-lores.jpg Patricia A. Burak Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics paburak@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Maria Caruso Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mccaruso@syr.edu
chongchun-chen-portrait-original.jpg Chongchun Chen Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cchen65@syr.edu 315-443-5901
kathryn-clinton-portrait-original-1035.jpeg Kathryn Clinton Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kclinton@syr.edu
tanya-dabrowiak-portrait-original.jpg Tania Dabrowiak Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics tnmordwi@syr.edu
Kennia-DeLaFeCamaraza.jpeg Kennia De La Fé Camaraza Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kdelafe@syr.edu
DettoriGiovanni_PsQThd1 Giovanni Dettori Part-Time Instructor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics gmdettor@syr.edu
laura-dillon-locicero-portrait.jpg Laura Dillon-Locicero Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lgdillon@syr.edu
antonina-distefano-portrait-original.jpg Antonina Distefano Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics adistefa@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Robert Dodds Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rmdodds@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Michal Downie Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mdownie@syr.edu
maureen-edmonds-portrait-LLL.JPG Maureen Edmonds Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Elizabeth-Elton.JPG Elizabeth Elton Part-Time Instructor, ESOL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Writing Center eaelton@syr.edu
consuelo-endrigo-williams-portrait-original.jpg Consuelo Endrigo-Williams Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cendrigo@syr.edu
stephen-foulkrod-portrait-original.jpg Stephen Foulkrod Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics swfoulkr@syr.edu
gamboa-eric.jpg Eric G Gamboa-Caneo Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics eggamboa@syr.edu
graduate-student-image Ana Maria Guerrero Andrade Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aguerrer@syr.edu
dayana-maso-hernandez.jpeg Dayana Maso Hernandez Part-Time Instructor, Spanich Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dmasoher@syr.edu
Eleanor-Homolko-original.jpg Eleanor Homolko Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics emhomolk@syr.edu
violette-humsi-portrait-original.jpeg Violette F. Humsi Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics vfhumsi@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Su Il Kim Part-time Instructor, ESOL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics skim260@syr.edu
socorro-koseki-portrait-original.JPG Socorro Koseki Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics skoseki@syr.edu
kaori-laclair-portrait-original.jpg Kaori LaClair Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics klaclair@syr.edu
Javier-Maymi-Perez.jpg Javier Maymi-Perez Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jamaymip@syr.edu
elaine-meltzer-portrait-original.jpg Elaine Meltzer Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics elmeltze@syr.edu
Soon-K-Min.jpg Soon K. Min Part-Time Instructor, Korean Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics smin03@syr.edu
magdelin-montenegro-portrait-original.JPG Magdelín Montenegro Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mamonten@syr.edu
alastair-murray-portrait-original.jpg Alastair Murray Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ahmurray@syr.edu
flavia-musto-portrait-original.JPG Flavia Musto Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics famusto@syr.edu
NojaimAustin_tEAOBVN Austin Nojaim Part-time Instructor, ESOL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics adnojaim@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Stephen Pierson Part-time Instructor, ESOL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics swpierso@syr.edu
Kitty Robinson Kitty Robinson Part-Time Instructor, French & Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kirobins@syr.edu
Elizabeth-Sasser.jpg Elizabeth Sasser Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ejsasser@syr.edu
bhanushri-sisodia-portrait-LLL.JPG Bhanushri Sisodia Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics bsisodia@syr.edu
Huruka-Snyder Haruka Higa Snyder Part-time Instructor, Japanese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hhiga@syr.edu
erella-brown-250x250.jpg Erella Brown Sofer Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ebrownso@syr.edu
jackie-sorci-portrait-lores.jpg Jackie Sorci Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jtsorci@syr.edu
Mary Ann Stanley_3729.jpg Mary Ann Stanley Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mstanley@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Yoko Urao Part-time Instructor, Japanese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics yourao@syr.edu
christa-wirth-portrait-original.jpg Christa Wirth Part-Time Instructor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics chwirth@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Deniz Yaman Part-time Instructor, ESOL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dyaman@syr.edu

Emeriti

beverly-allen-portrait-original.jpg Beverly Allen Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ballen@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Paul Archambault Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics archmblt@bucknell.edu
harold-jones-portrait-original.JPG Harold G. Jones Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hgjones@syr.edu
dennis-mcort-portrait-informal.jpg Dennis McCort Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ddmccort@yahoo.com
photo-not-available.jpg William C. Ritchie Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics writchie@syr.edu

Faculty Affiliates

margaret-hermann-portrait-orig-1x1.jpg Margaret Hermann Professor, Political Science mgherman@syr.edu 315.443.4022
Hromalik photo_Jg47TdX.jpeg Christopher Hromalik Professor: Visiting Scholar cdhromal@syr.edu

Staff

photo-not-available.jpg Marie K O'Leary Budget Administrator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics maoleary@syr.edu 315.443.1625
photo-not-available.jpg Christine Palmer Office Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cepalmer@syr.edu 315.443.5906

Graduate Students

photo-not-available.jpg Anissa Aissaoui Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aelaissa@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg William Fredy Andahua Arellan Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics wfandahu@syr.edu
Joshua-Baumgarten.jpg Joshua Baumgarten Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jpbaumga@syr.edu
BogachevaValeriia_juU3sTf Valeria Bogacheva Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics vbogache@syr.edu
hugo-cantin.jpg Hugo Cantin Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hpcantin@syr.edu
Chiara-Di-Maio.jpg Chiara Di Maio Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cdimaio@syr.edu
Andrew Dowling Andrew Dowling Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics andowlin@syr.edu
Kathryn-Hayes.jpg Kathryn Hayes Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics khayes06@syr.edu
JamesA_GLBVA2v Alexandra James Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, ENL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ajames15@syr.edu
KalouchJoumana_SWVXtfQ Joumana Kalouch Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French & Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jkalouch@syr.edu
GonzalezJ.jpg Jhon G. Lindarte Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jhgonzal@syr.edu
giovanni-minicucci.jpg Giovanni (Gio) Minicucci Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish and Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics gminicuc@syr.edu
Haley-Muth.jpg Haley Muth Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, ENL Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hamuth@syr.edu
Park, Eunchong_AkFLJEF Eunchong Park Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Korean Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics epark19@syr.edu
Hector Prieto Hector Manuel Prieto Rodriguez Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hprietor@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Linnet Sanchez Ramirez Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lsanch11@syr.edu
Rollando-Kozlowski-Camille Camille Rollando-Kozlowski Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French & Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics crolland@syr.edu
Yuri Sibucks.jpg Yuri Sibucks Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ysibucks@syr.edu
TavaresThamiris_oVapIc2 Thamiris Tavares Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Portuguese (FLTA) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ttavares@syr.edu
Jui Hsuan Tsai Jui Hsuan Tsai Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Chinese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jtsai02@syre.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Lorena Velásquez Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lovelasq@syr.edu
Ian White.jpg Ian White Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics iawhite@syr.edu
FeiWu.jpg Fei Wu Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Chinese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics fwu117@syr.edu
YamsuanB_afzS2nV Benjamin Louis Yamsuan Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics blyamsua@syr.edu
Kevin Zhang Kevin Zhang Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Chinese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kzhang76@syr.edu