Orange Alert

Philosophy Faculty, Instructors, Staff and Graduate Students

Department Chair

Directors

Faculty

Martín-Abreu-Zavaleta Martín Abreu Zavaleta Assistant Professor Philosophy mabreuza@syr.edu
luvell-anderson-portrait-medres.jpg Luvell Anderson Associate Professor Philosophy lander04@syr.edu 315.443.2536
kenneth-baynes-portrait-original-2012.jpeg Kenneth Baynes Professor Philosophy krbaynes@syr.edu
ben-bradley-portrait-original.JPG Ben Bradley Allan and Anita Sutton Professor Philosophy wbradley@syr.edu 315-443-5818
Janice Dowell Janice Dowell Professor Philosophy jldowell@syr.edu
Kevan Edwards Kevan Edwards Associate Professor Philosophy kedwar02@syr.edu 315.443.5821
Verena Erlenbusch-Anderson_8238.jpg Verena Erlenbusch-Anderson Associate Professor Philosophy 315.443.3155
samuel-gorovitz-portrait-original.jpg Samuel Gorovitz Professor Philosophy sgcas@syr.edu 315.443.9331
mark-heller-portrait-original.JPG Mark Heller Professor Philosophy heller@syr.edu 315.443.5813
Karin Nisenbaum Karin Nisenbaum Renée Crown Professor in the Humanities and Assistant Professor Philosophy kanisenb@syr.edu
Christopher-Noble.jpg Christopher Noble Associate Professor Philosophy cinoble@syr.edu
hille-paakkunainen-portrait-outside.jpg Hille Paakkunainen Associate Professor and Graduate Director Philosophy hpaakkun@syr.edu 315.443.5827
kara-richardson-portrait-original.jpg Kara Richardson Associate Professor and Department Chair Philosophy kricha03@syr.edu
michael-rieppel-portrait-original.jpg Michael Rieppel Associate Professor and Undergraduate Director Philosophy morieppe@syr.edu 315.443.2519
Erica-Shumener Erica Houts Shumener Assistant Professor of Philosophy Philosophy eshumene@syr.edu
David Sobel with a Rolling Stones mask. David Sobel Irwin and Marjorie Guttag Professor of Ethics and Political Philosophy Philosophy dsobel@syr.edu
robert-van-gulick-portrait-original.JPG Robert Van Gulick Professor Philosophy rnvangul@syr.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Joseph Hedger Joseph Hedger Part-Time Instructor Philosophy jhedger@syr.edu
James-Lee.jpg James Soo Lee Part-Time Instructor Philosophy jslee09@syr.edu
Amy-Massoud.jpg Amy Irene Massoud Part-Time Instructor Philosophy aimassou@syr.edu
Pamela-Ryan.jpg Pamela Ryan Part-Time Instructor Philosophy pryan03@syr.edu
Neelam-Sethi.jpg Neelam Sethi Part-Time Instructor Philosophy nsethi@syr.edu
Byron-Simmons.jpg Byron Simmons Part-Time Instructor Philosophy bsimmons@syr.edu

Emeriti

fred-beiser-portrait-outside.jpg Frederick Beiser Professor Emeritus Philosophy fbeiser@syr.edu 315.443.5815
Johnathan-Bennett.jpg Jonathan Bennett Professor Emeritus Philosophy earlymodern31@gmail.com
Mark-Brown.jpg Mark Brown Professor Emeritus Philosophy mabrown@syr.edu
Clyde-Hardinv2.jpg C. L. Hardin Professor Emeritus Philosophy chardin1@twcny.rr.com
Thomas-McKay.jpg Thomas McKay Professor Emeritus Philosophy tjmckay@syr.edu
Emily- Robertson.jpg Emily Robertson Professor Emerita Philosophy eroberts@syr.edu
John-Robertson.jpg John Robertson Professor Emeritus Philosophy jerobert@syr.edu
stocker.jpg Michael Stocker Professor Emeritus Philosophy ehegeman@pipeline.com
laurence-thomas-portrait-original.jpg Laurence Thomas Professor Emeritus Philosophy

Faculty Affiliates

Zachary Braiterman.jpg Zachary J. Braiterman Professor Religion zbraiter@syr.edu 315.443.5719
elizabeth-cohen-portrait-original.jpg Elizabeth Cohen Professor Political Science efcohen@syr.edu 315.443.5870
Johannes-Himmelreich-portrait-original.jpg Johannes Himmelreich Assistant Professor International Relations jrhimmel@syr.edu 315.443.9325
glynn-morgan-portrait-original.jpg Glyn Morgan Associate Professor Political Science dgmorgan@syr.edu 315.443.8678
marcia-robinson-portrait-original.jpg Marcia Robinson Assistant Professor Religion mrobin03@syr.edu 315.443.5726

Staff

Alanis-Hamblin Alanis Hamblin Office Coordinator Philosophy aehambli@syr.edu 315.443.2245
roberta-hennigan-portrait-lores.jpg Roberta Hennigan Budget Analyst/Office Supervisor Philosophy rhenniga@syr.edu 315.443.4501

Graduate Students

Aatif-Abbas-Pic.jpg Aatif Abbas Graduate Student Philosophy aaabbas@syr.edu
Brett Blitch Brett Blitch Graduate Student Philosophy bmblitch@syr.edu
Christopher Bousquet Christopher Bousquet Graduate Student Philosophy crbousqu@syr.edu
Teresa-Bruno-20200219.jpg Teresa Bruno-Niño Graduate Student Philosophy tbrunoni@syr.edu
Busse85.jpg Christina Busse Graduate Student Philosophy cmhoffma@syr.edu
Shiyu-Chen.jpeg Shiyu Chen Graduate Student Philosophy schen17@syr.edu
Chris Cho Hyun Jun (Chris) Cho Graduate Student Philosophy hcho25@syr.edu
Cagla-Cimendereli.JPG Çağla Çimendereli Graduate Student Philosophy ycimende@syr.edu
Benjamin-Cook.jpg Benjamin Cook Graduate Student Philosophy bkcook@syr.edu
Lorenza-DAngelo.jpg Lorenza D'Angelo Graduate Student Philosophy lodangel@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Dante Dauksz Graduate Student Philosophy ddauksz@syr.edu
De-Melo.jpg Thiago de Melo Graduate Student Philosophy txdemelo@syr.edu
Huzeyfe Demirtas Huzeyfe Demirtas Graduate Student Philosophy hdemirta@syr.edu
Fortier85.jpg Nikki Fortier Graduate Student Philosophy nfortier@syr.edu
Austin-Fraser.jpg Austin Fraser Graduate Student Philosophy apfraser@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Antonio Freiles Graduate Student Philosophy anantoni@syr.edu
Autumn Harrison Autumn Harrison Graduate Student Philosophy bharri17@syr.edu
Kellan Head Kellan Head Graduate Student Philosophy kdhead@syr.edu
Weiting-Huang.jpeg Weiting Huang Graduate Student Philosophy whuang21@syr.edu
Kayfetz-Vuong.jpeg Nasia Kayfetz-Vuong Graduate Student Philosophy nmkayfet@syr.edu
Minseok Kim Minseok Kim Graduate Student Philosophy mkim66@syr.edu
Matthew-Koehlerv2.jpg Matthew Koehler Graduate Student Philosophy mkoehler@syr.edu
kohls85.png Stacy Kohls Graduate Student Philosophy slkohls@syr.edu
AKrantz.png Alex Krantz Graduate Student Philosophy jkrantz@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Aleksandra Kuciel Graduate Student Philosophy amkuciel@syr.edu
noah-lanning-portrait-original.jpg Noah Lanning Graduate Student Philosophy njlannin@syr.edu
Sanggu Lee85.jpg Sanggu Lee Graduate Student Philosophy slee192@syr.edu
Jared-Liebergen.jpg Jared Liebergen Graduate Student Philosophy jlieberg@syr.edu
Liam Lieblein Liam Lieblein Graduate Student Philosophy lvlieble@syr.edu
Looney.jpg William "Scott" Looney Graduate Student Philosophy wslooney@syr.edu
Lu85.jpg Yaojun Lu Graduate Student Philosophy ylu46@syr.edu
Sean-Nalty.jpg Sean Nalty Graduate Student Philosophy smnalty@syr.edu
Felipe-Oliveira.jpg Felipe Eurenio Oliveira Graduate Student Philosophy feolivei@syr.edu
William Osborne William Osborne III Graduate Student Philosophy wgosborn@syr.edu
Adam-Patterson.png Adam Patterson Graduate Student Philosophy apatters@syr.edu
Bertram-Probyn.jpeg Bertram Probyn Graduate Student Philosophy bnprobyn@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Roger Rosena Graduate Student Philosophy rdrosena@syr.edu
Hamed Shirmohammadi Hamed Shirmohammadi Graduate Student Philosophy hshirmoh@syr.edu
victor-sholl.jpg Victor Sholl Graduate Student Philosophy vnicolau@syr.edu
Jags85.jpg Jags Singh Graduate Student Philosophy jsdosanj@syr.edu
Singletary.jpg Jason Singletary Graduate Student Philosophy jcsingle@syr.edu
Tignor85.jpg Joshua Tignor Graduate Student Philosophy jttignor@syr.edu
Ian-York.jpg Ian York Graduate Student Philosophy iayork@syr.edu