Orange Alert

Skip to main content
Syracuse University, College of Arts and Sciences

Philosophy Faculty, Instructors, Staff and Graduate Students

Department Chair

Directors

Faculty

luvell-anderson-portrait-medres.jpg Luvell Anderson Associate Professor Philosophy lander04@syr.edu 315.443.2536
kenneth-baynes-portrait-original-2012.jpeg Kenneth Baynes Professor Philosophy krbaynes@syr.edu
fred-beiser-portrait-outside.jpg Frederick Beiser Professor Philosophy fbeiser@syr.edu 315.443.5815
ben-bradley-portrait-original.JPG Ben Bradley Allan and Anita Sutton Professor and Department Chair Philosophy wbradley@syr.edu 315-443-5818
janice-dowell-portrait-original.jpeg Janice Dowell Professor Philosophy jldowell@syr.edu 315.443.5825
Kevan Edwards Kevan Edwards Associate Professor Philosophy kedwar02@syr.edu 315.443.5821
Verena Erlenbusch-Anderson_8238.jpg Verena Erlenbusch-Anderson Associate Professor Philosophy verlenbu@syr.edu 315.443.3155
samuel-gorovitz-portrait-original.jpg Samuel Gorovitz Professor Philosophy sgcas@syr.edu 315.443.9331
mark-heller-portrait-original.JPG Mark Heller Professor Philosophy heller@syr.edu 315.443.5813
christopher-noble-portrait-original.jpg Christopher Noble Assistant Professor Philosophy cinoble@syr.edu 315.443.5816
hille-paakkunainen-portrait-outside.jpg Hille Paakkunainen Associate Professor and Graduate Director Philosophy hpaakkun@syr.edu 315.443.5827
kara-richardson-portrait-original.jpg Kara Richardson Associate Professor Philosophy kricha03@syr.edu 315.443.5817
michael-rieppel-portrait-original.jpg Michael Rieppel Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Director Philosophy morieppe@syr.edu 315.443.2519
Keshav Singh Keshav Singh Assistant Professor Philosophy kesingh@syr.edu
david-sobel-portrait-original.jpg David Sobel Irwin and Marjorie Guttag Professor of Ethics and Political Philosophy Philosophy dsobel@syr.edu
robert-van-gulick-portrait-original.JPG Robert Van Gulick Professor Philosophy rnvangul@syr.edu 315.443.5828

Part-Time Faculty

photo-not-available.jpg Christina Marie Busse Part-Time Instructor Philosophy cmhoffma@syr.edu
Jeremy-Dickinson.jpg Jeremy A Dickinson Part-Time Instructor Philosophy jedickin@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Jacob Raphael Greenblum Part-Time Instructor Philosophy jrgreenb@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Joseph Hedger Part-Time Instructor Philosophy jhedger@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Matthew Alan Koehler Part-Time Instructor Philosophy mkoehler@syr.edu
James-Lee.jpg James Soo Lee Part-Time Instructor Philosophy jslee09@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Isaiah Lin Part-Time Instructor Philosophy islin@syr.edu
Amy-Massoud.jpg Amy Irene Massoud Part-Time Instructor Philosophy aimassou@syr.edu
Edward-Mooney.JPG Edward Fiske Mooney Part-Time Instructor Philosophy efmooney@syr.edu 315.443.5726
William-Osborne.JPG William Galloway Osborne III Part-Time Instructor Philosophy wgosborn@syr.edu
Paul-W-Prescott.jpeg Paul Warden Prescott Part-time Assistant Professor Philosophy papresco@syr.edu
Pamela-Ryan.jpg Pamela Ryan Part-Time Instructor Philosophy pryan03@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Neelam Sethi Part-Time Instructor Philosophy nsethi@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Clark A Sexton Part-Time Instructor Philosophy casexton@syr.edu

Emeriti

photo-not-available.jpg Mark Brown Emeritus Associate Professor Philosophy mabrown@syr.edu 315.443.5829
photo-not-available.jpg C. L. Hardin Professor Emeritus Philosophy chardin1@twcny.rr.com 315.443.2245
photo-not-available.jpg Thomas McKay Professor Emeritus Philosophy tjmckay@syr.edu 315.443.2245
photo-not-available.jpg Emily Robertson Professor Emerita Philosophy eroberts@syr.edu 315.443.9074
photo-not-available.jpg John Robertson Professor Emeritus Philosophy jerobert@syr.edu 315.443.5826
photo-not-available.jpg Michael Stocker Emeritus Professor Philosophy ehegeman@pipeline.com 315.443.2245

Faculty Affiliates

zachary-braiterman-portrait-original-informal.jpg Zachary J. Braiterman Professor Religion zbraiter@syr.edu 315.443.5719
elizabeth-cohen-portrait-original.jpg Elizabeth Cohen Professor Political Science efcohen@syr.edu 315.443.5870
Johannes-Himmelreich-portrait-original.jpg Johannes Himmelreich Assistant Professor International Relations jrhimmel@syr.edu 315.443.9325
glynn-morgan-portrait-original.jpg Glyn Morgan Associate Professor Political Science dgmorgan@syr.edu 315.443.8678
marcia-robinson-portrait-original.jpg Marcia Robinson Assistant Professor Religion mrobin03@syr.edu 315.443.5726
Ernest-Wallwork-lr-portrait Ernest Wallwork Professor, Religion Religion eewallwo@syr.edu 315.443.5720

Staff

lisa-farnsworth-originial.jpg Lisa Farnsworth Secretary/Office Coordinator Philosophy lfarnswo@syr.edu 315.443.2245
roberta-hennigan-portrait-lores.jpg Roberta Hennigan Budget Analyst/Office Supervisor Philosophy rhenniga@syr.edu 315.443.4501

Graduate Students

Aatif-Abbas-Pic.jpg Aatif Abbas Graduate Student Philosophy aaabbas@syr.edu
Rose Bell Rose Bell Graduate Student Philosophy rabell@syr.edu
Christopher Bousquet Christopher Bousquet Graduate Student Philosophy crbousqu@syr.edu
Teresa-Bruno-20200219.jpg Teresa Bruno-Niño Graduate Student Philosophy tbrunoni@syr.edu
Busse85.jpg Christina Busse Graduate Student Philosophy cmhoffma@syr.edu
Shiyu-Chen.jpeg Shiyu Chen Graduate Student Philosophy schen17@syr.edu
cimendereli.jpg Çağla Çimendereli Graduate Student Philosophy ycimende@syr.edu
Cook85.jpg Benjamin Cook Graduate Student Philosophy bkcook@syr.edu
Lorenza-DAngelo.jpg Lorenza D'Angelo Graduate Student Philosophy lodangel@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Dante Dauksz Graduate Student Philosophy ddauksz@syr.edu
de Melo85.jpg Thiago de Melo Graduate Student Philosophy txdemelo@syr.edu
Huzeyfe Demirtas Huzeyfe Demirtas Graduate Student Philosophy hdemirta@syr.edu
Fernandez85.jpg Alfredo Fernandez Graduate Student Philosophy aferna10@syr.edu
Fortier85.jpg Nikki Fortier Graduate Student Philosophy nfortier@syr.edu
carolyn-garland.jpg Carolyn Garland Graduate Student Philosophy cegarlan@syr.edu
Kellan Head Kellan Head Graduate Student Philosophy kdhead@syr.edu
Huang85.jpg Weiting Huang Graduate Student Philosophy whuang21@syr.edu
JavierCastellanos.jpg Arturo Javier-Castellanos Graduate Student Philosophy aajavier@syr.edu
MKoehler.png Matthew Koehler Graduate Student Philosophy mkoehler@syr.edu
kohls85.png Stacy Kohls Graduate Student Philosophy slkohls@syr.edu
AKrantz.png Alex Krantz Graduate Student Philosophy jkrantz@syr.edu
noah-lanning-portrait-original.jpg Noah Lanning Graduate Student Philosophy njlannin@syr.edu
Sanggu Lee85.jpg Sanggu Lee Graduate Student Philosophy slee192@syr.edu
Lin.jpg Isaiah Lin Graduate Student Philosophy islin@syr.edu
Looney.jpg William "Scott" Looney Graduate Student Philosophy wslooney@syr.edu
Lu85.jpg Yaojun Lu Graduate Student Philosophy ylu46@syr.edu
Nalty85.jpg Sean Nalty Graduate Student Philosophy smnalty@syr.edu
emine-oktay-portrait-original.jpg Emine "Naz" Oktay Graduate Student Philosophy enoktay@syr.edu
Osborne85.jpg William Osborne III Graduate Student Philosophy wgosborn@syr.edu
Patterson85.jpg Adam Patterson Graduate Student Philosophy apatters@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Roger Rosena Graduate Student Philosophy rdrosena@syr.edu
Shirmohammadi85.jpg Hamed Shirmohammadi Graduate Student Philosophy hshirmoh@syr.edu
Jags85.jpg Jags Singh Graduate Student Philosophy jsdosanj@syr.edu
Singletary.jpg Jason Singletary Graduate Student Philosophy jcsingle@syr.edu
Jan-Swiderski.jpg Jan Swiderski Graduate Student Philosophy jaswider@syr.edu
Tignor85.jpg Joshua Tignor Graduate Student Philosophy you@syr.edu
York85.jpg Ian York Graduate Student Philosophy iayork@syr.edu