Orange Alert

Skip to main content
Syracuse University, College of Arts and Sciences

Religion Faculty, Staff, and Students

Department Chair

Faculty

Phil-Arnold-portrait.jpg Philip P. Arnold Associate Professor and Department Chair Religion pparnold@syr.edu 315.443.3861
zachary-braiterman-portrait-original-informal.jpg Zachary J. Braiterman Professor Religion zbraiter@syr.edu 315.443.5719
mark-brockway.jpeg Mark Brockway Faculty Fellow in Political Science and Religion Religion mdbrockw@syr.edu
Virginia-Burrus-portrait.jpg Virginia Burrus The Bishop W. Earl Ledden Professor Religion mvburrus@syr.edu 315.443.3861
gareth-fisher-portrait-original2.jpg Gareth Fisher Associate Professor Religion gfisher@syr.edu 315.443.5914
Ken Frieden Ken Frieden B.G. Rudolph Professor of Judaic Studies and William P. Tolley Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities English Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Religion kfrieden@syr.edu 315.443.3861
biko-mandela-gray-portrait-original.jpg Biko Mandela Gray Assistant Professor Religion bmgray@syr.edu 315.443.3863
M-Gail-Hamner-portrait.jpg M. Gail Hamner Professor Religion mghamner@syr.edu 315.443.5716
Jeanette-Jouili.jpg Jeanette S. Jouili Associate Professor of Religion Religion jsjouili@syr.edu 315.443.3861
tazim-kassam-portrait-original.jpg Tazim . R Kassam Associate Professor Religion tkassam@syr.edu 315.443.3861
Brian-Konkol.jpg Brian E. Konkol Dean of Hendricks Chapel and Professor of Practice Religion bkonkol@syr.edu 315. 443.2902
gustav-niebuhr-portrait-original.JPG R. Gustav Niebuhr Associate Professor Religion rgniebuh@syr.edu 315.443.5723
william-robert-portrait-original.jpg William Robert Associate Professor Religion wrobert@syr.edu 315.443.3133
marcia-robinson-portrait-original.jpg Marcia Robinson Assistant Professor Religion mrobin03@syr.edu 315.443.5726
Shira-Schwartz.jpg Shira Schwartz Assistant Professor, Phyllis Backer Professor of Jewish Studies Religion seschwar@syr.edu
Joanne-Waghorne-portrait.jpg Joanne Punzo Waghorne Professor Religion jpwaghor@syr.edu 315.443.5715
Ernest-Wallwork-lr-portrait Ernest Wallwork Professor, Religion Religion eewallwo@syr.edu 315.443.5720
Jim-Watts-profile.jpg James W. Watts Professor Religion jwwatts@syr.edu 315.443.5713

Part-Time Faculty

photo-not-available.jpg Michael E Chaness Part-Time Instructor Religion mechanes@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Theresa Hawley Reeder Part-Time Instructor Religion threeder@syr.edu

Emeriti

john-caputo-portrait-original.JPG John D. Caputo Thomas J. Watson Professor Emeritus, Religion and Humanities Religion jdcaputo@syr.edu 315.443.3861
ronald-cavanagh-portrait-original-2002.jpg Ronald R. Cavanagh Associate Professor Religion rrcavana@syr.edu 315.443.3861
ann-gold-portrait-original.jpg Ann Grodzins Gold Thomas J. Watson Professor Emerita Anthropology Religion aggold@syr.edu 315.443.5717
David-Miller-portrait.jpg David L. Miller Watson-Ledden Professor Emeritus, Religion Religion dlmiller@syr.edu 315.443.3861
patricia-cox-miller-portrait-original.jpg Patricia Cox Miller The (Bishop) W. Earl Ledden Professor Emerita Religion plmiller@syr.edu 315.443.3861
Edward-Mooney.JPG Edward F. Mooney Professor Emeritus Religion efmooney@syr.edu 315.443.3861
Richard-Pilgrim-lr portrait Richard B. Pilgrim Associate Professor Emeritus, Religion Religion rbpilgri@syr.edu 315.443.3861

Faculty Affiliates

jonathan-boyarin-cornell-250x250.jpg Jonathan Boyarin Mann Professor of Jewish Studies, Cornell University jboyarin@cornell.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Joan Bryant Associate Professor and Department Chair African American Studies jobryant@syr.edu 315.443.4399
Darryl_Caterine-lemoyne-250x250.jpg Darryl Caterine Professor, Le Moyne College cateridv@lemoyne.edu
albrecht-diem-portrait-original.jpg Albrecht Diem Associate Professor History adiem@syr.edu 315.443.0785
Joshua_Dubler_Rochester.jpg Joshua Dubler Assistant Professor, University of Rochester joshua.dubler@rochester.edu
carol-faulkner-portrait-original.jpg Carol Faulkner Professor cfaulkne@syr.edu 315.443.9500
georgia-frank-colgate.jpg Georgia Frank Dana Professor of Religion, Colgate University gfrank@colgate.edu
Jennifer_Glancy-lemoyne-250x250.jpg Jennifer Glancy O’Connell Distinguished Teaching Professor, Le Moyne College glancy@lemoyne.edu
tracey-hucks-colgate-250x250-min.jpg Tracey Hucks Provost & Dean of the Faculty, Strong Professor of Religion, Colgate University thucks@colgate.edu
Aaron-Hughes-rochester.jpg Aaron W. Hughes Bernstein Professor of Jewish Studies, University of Rochester aaron.hughes@rochester.edu
june_hwang.jpg June Hwang Associate Professor, University of Rochester june.hwang@rochester.edu
Steven-Kepnes-Colgate.jpg Steven Kepnes Professor, Colgate University skepnes@colgate.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Karmen MacKendrick Professor, Le Moyne College mackendk@lemoyne.edu
Glenn Peers Glenn Peers Professor Art and Music Histories gapeers@syr.edu 315.443.5031
jenna-reinbold-colgate-250x250-min.jpg Jenna Reinbold Associate Professor, Colgate University jreinbold@colgate.edu
S-brent-plate-hamilton.jpg S. Brent Rodriguez-Plate Hamilton College splate@hamilton.edu
nora-rubel-rochester.jpg Nora Rubel Jane and Alan Batkin Professor of Jewish Studies, University of Rochester nora.rubel@rochester.edu
scott-manning-stevens-portrait-original.jpg Scott Manning Stevens Associate Professor English Humanities Faculty scsteven@syr.edu 315.443.8785
brenton-sullivan-colgate.jpg Brenton Sullivan Assistant Professor, Colgate University bsullivan@colgate.edu
Thompson_Margaret.jpg Margaret Susan Thompson Associate Professor History msthomps@syr.edu 315.443.5882
Ludger-Viefhues-Bailey-lemoyne-250x250.png Ludger Viefhues-Bailey Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Gender, and Culture; Le Moyne College viefhulh@lemoyne.edu

Staff

photo-not-available.jpg Jacqueline Borowve Graduate Records Coordinator Religion jborowve@syr.edu 315.443.3861
photo-not-available.jpg Deborah Pratt Administrative Assistant Religion dpratt@syr.edu 315.443.3863

Graduate Students

Abercrombie-John2.jpg John Abercrombie PhD Candidate, Communities and Identities Religion jdabercr@syr.edu 315.443.3863
berger-allie.png Allie Berger PhD Student, Communities and Identities Religion alberger@syr.edu 315.443. 3863
Borchert-John.jpg John Borchert PhD Candidate, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion jwborche@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Brett-AdamDJ.jpg Adam DJ Brett PhD Candidate, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion adbrett@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Brown-Diana.jpg Diana Brown PhD Candidate Religion dlbro100@syr.edu 315.443.3863
carpenter-rachel.jpg Rachel Carpenter PhD Student, Texts and Contexts Religion rkcarpen@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Carson-Maria.jpg Maria Junttila Carson PhD Candidate, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion mjcarson@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Celik-Ahmed.jpg Ahmet Çelik PhD Student, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion acelik@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Danae Faulk Danae Faulk PhD Candidate, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion dmfaulk@syr.edu 315.443.3863
photo-not-available.jpg Grace Fritzke M.A. Student, Communities & Identities Religion gfritzke@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Patricia Giles Patricia Giles PhD Candidate Religion pmgiles@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Abel.jpg Abel Gomez PhD Candidate, Communities and Identities Religion abgomez@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Hennigar-Mallory.jpg Mallory Hennigar PhD Candidate, Communities and Identities Religion mahennig@syr.edu 315.443.3863
photo-not-available.jpg Owais Khan PhD Candidate Religion mokhan01@syr.edu 315.443.3863
photo-not-available.jpg Daniel J. Kimmel PhD Student, Texts and Contexts Religion djkimmel@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Loewen-Jordan.jpg Jordan Brady Loewen PhD Candidate, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion jbloewen@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Loner-Shawn.jpg Shawn Loner PhD Candidate Religion scloner@syr.edu 315.443.3863
McCormick-Lauren.jpg Lauren McCormick PhD Candidate, Texts and Contexts Religion lamccorm@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Moreau-Mitchell.jpg Mitchell Moreau PhD Student, Texts and Contexts Religion mmoreau@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Murray-Hannah.jpg Hannah Murray MA Student, Critique, Image, Politics Religion hmurray@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Sarah Nahar Sarah Nahar Ph.D. Student, Communities and Identities Religion senahar@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Patel-Aarti.jpg Aarti Patel PhD Candidate, Communities and Identities Religion apatel10@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Arenas.jpg Carlos Andrés Ramírez Arenas PhD Student, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion cramir03@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Gal-Stav-Alfasi.jpg Gal Stav-Alfasi PhD Student, Communities and Identities Religion gstavalf@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Sara-Swenson.jpg Sara Ann Swenson PhD Candidate, Communities and Identities Religion saswenso@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Yeni-Duygu.jpg Duygu Yeni Cenebasi PhD Candidate, Critique, Image, and Politics Religion dyeni@syr.edu 315.443.3863