Orange Alert

Skip to main content
Syracuse University, College of Arts and Sciences

Department Chairs

1943-1946: William Ted Martin [1]

1946-1948: Steward S. Cairns

1948-1952: Department run by a committee, with Kibbey as acting chair [2]

1952-1971: Donald Kibbey

1971-1979: Erik Hemmingsen [3]

1979-1982: Jack Graver

1982-1988: Larry Lardy

1988-1994: Dan Waterman

1994-2005: Douglas Anderson

2005-2008: Terry McConnell

2008-2014: Eugene Poletsky

2014-2020: Uday Banerjee

2020-present: Graham Leuschke

[1] Prior to 1943 there had been separate departments of mathematics in Business, Enginering and Liberal Arts, and they were united when Martin came from MIT to be chair (source: Erik Hemmingsen, The Department of Mathematics up until about 1960). He returned to MIT in 1946, and was department chair there from 1947 to 1962.

[2] According to Kibbey’s entry in American Men and Women of Science, 12th edition, he served as chair 1952-1971. I am grateful to Paul Gilbert for the following information. When Cairns left the Department in 1948, "the department was run by a committee. It made the ‘important’ decisions, but Don did the nitty-gritty work, really as an acting chairman under the watchful eye of the committee". Don Kibbey’s service as chair of the Mathematics Department had no fixed term and ended in 1971, when he was promoted to Vice-President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School. He served 6 years until his retirement from the University in 1977.

[3] Erik Hemmingsen was first elected for a 5-year term, and then for another 3-year term. The Constitution committee was elected in spring 1971, met during the following fall semester, reported its proposed constitution in early 1972 at a faculty meeting, and that document was accepted in a subsequent secret ballot. Although the Constitution specifies that the chair should be elected with a term of office, it does not specify that term. In practice since the constitution was approved in 1972, all terms have been for 3 years.

--P. T. Church 9/30/01