Orange Alert

Skip to main content
Syracuse University, College of Arts and Sciences

Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Ceremony

Every April LLL gets together to close the academic year celebrating the excellent work of our members during the year. This ceremony is referred to as the Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Ceremony in honor of Gerlinde Ulm Sanford, one of the beloved members of our department who served her last days as the Chair of our department.

During the Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Ceremony, LLL members receive the most prestigious awards in LLL: the Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Award for Loyalty, Dedication, and Valuable Contribution to the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics. The award winner/s are nominated by LLL colleagues and receive/s $5000. The Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics is truly grateful to Dr. and Mrs. Harold Jones for their tremendous generosity to the LLL Department.

In addition, students are awarded with the 2020 Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Student Award and awards for outstanding achievements.

2020 Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Awards

  • 2020 Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Staff/Faculty Award: Chris Palmer
  • 2020 Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Overall Student Award: Connor Jones
  • German Student Award: Catiana Louise Porter

Outstanding Achievement in LLL Programs

  • Classics – Shane Ryan
  • Classical Civilization – Michael Annesi
  • French – Sarah Feustle
  • German – Si Li  
  • German – Fengzhang Wang
  • Italian – Paris Bridget Acquaro
  • Linguistics – Marni Libby
  • Modern Foreign Language – Marcel Maria Pons
  • Russian – Kristina Varganova
  • Spanish – Beatriz Bueno Dorea
  • Spanish Education – Lourdes Morales

LLL Undergraduate Research Award

  • Megan Hu
  • Caroline Bennett

LLL Undergraduate Experiential Learning Award

  • SPA 439: Community Outreach: Language in Action Spring 2020 class
  • [K. Foley, M. Golberg, E. Kelly, L. Miller, D. Rodriguez, M. Schinaia, M. Snyder, E. Zapata]

LLL Undergraduate Representative

  • Charlie Naples

Outstanding M.A. Students

  • Lylia Djoudi (French)
  • Soyoung Kim (LSP)
  • Estela Martínez (Spanish)

2020 Graduate School Outstanding TA Awards

  • Elizabeth Elton (LSP)
  • Ana María Guerrero (Spanish)
  • Amanda Parraguez (French)

2020 LLL Collaborative Research Awards

  • Multilingualism in Second/Foreign Language Teaching’
    • PI Amanda Brown, LLL; Co-PI Meixiu Zhang, LLL.
  • ’Translanguaging Across the Humanities’
    • PI Gail Bulman, LLL; Co-PIs Amanda Brown, LLL & Sally Cornelison, Art and Music Histories

2020 LLL Innovative Teaching Initiative Awards

  • ‘The Visibility of the Translator: Theories and Practices in Translation’
    • G. Waite & E. Juarez-Cummings
  • ’Using Performance-based Methods to Reinforce Oral Skills. A Holistic Methodology Based on Neuroscientific Research’
    • M. Eikel-Pohen & C. Nock

Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Award Endowment

The Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics gives special thanks to Harold Jones for creating the Gerlinde Ulm Sanford Award Endowment, which significantly increases the monetary value of the award and ensures its continuation. We are truly grateful to Dr. and Mrs. Harold Jones for their tremendous generosity to the LLL Department.