Orange Alert

Biology Department People

 

Faculty

Yasir Ahmed_9357.jpg Yasir Ahmed-Braimah Assistant Professor Biology yahmed@syr.edu 315.443.1564
David Althoff 2.jpeg David M. Althoff Associate Professor Biology dmalthof@syr.edu 315.443.1096
Katie M. Becklin Katie M. Becklin Assistant Professor Biology kmbeckli@syr.edu 315.443.2155
Melanie-Blanden.PNG Melanie Jane Blanden Assistant Teaching Professor Biology mblanden@syr.edu
Carlos-Castanada@72.jpg Carlos A. Castañeda Associate Professor Biology Chemistry cacastan@syr.edu 315.443.3673
heather-coleman-portrait-original.jpg Heather D. Coleman Associate Professor and Associate Department Chair Biology hcoleman@syr.edu 315.443.0453
jen-cook.jpg Jen Cook Assistant Teaching Professor of Neuroscience, Primary Advisor to Neuroscience ILM Students Biology jcook08@syr.edu
Steve Dorus Steve Dorus Associate Professor Biology sdorus@syr.edu 315.443.7091
Scott Erdman Scott Erdman Associate Professor Biology seerdman@syr.edu 315.443.3748
Christopher-Fernandez Christopher W. Fernandez Assistant Professor Biology cferna10@syr.edu 315.443.3098
thomas-fondy-portrait-original.jpg Thomas P. Fondy Professor Biology tpfondy@syr.edu 315.443.2615
Douglas A. Frank Douglas A. Frank Professor Biology dafrank@syr.edu 315.443.4529
AM Garner.png Austin M. Garner Assistant Professor Biology agarner@syr.edu 315.443.5816
Paul Gold Paul Gold Distinguished Professor of Biology Biology pegold@syr.edu 315.443.8086
sarah-hall-portrait-original.jpg Sarah E. Hall Associate Professor Biology shall@syr.edu 315.443.2964
Heidi Hehnly Heidi Hehnly Renée Crown Professor in the Sciences and Mathematics and Associate Professor Biology hhehnly@syr.edu 315.443.2159
james-hewett-portrait-original.JPG James Hewett Associate Professor Biology Forensic Science jhewett@syr.edu 315.443.9613
hewett-sandra-portrait-original.jpg Sandra Hewett Beverly Petterson Bishop Professor of Neuroscience and Professor of Biology, Executive Director of Neuroscience Studies, Director of Neuroscience Graduate Concentration Biology shewett@syr.edu 315.443.9657
Hougland, James.jpg James Hougland Professor and Biochemistry Director Biology Chemistry hougland@syr.edu 315.443.1134
Frants-Jensen.jpg Frants Havmand Jensen Research Assistant Professor Biology Frants.jensen@gmail.com 732.579.7692
Jones, Robin lecturer.jpg Robin Jones Associate Teaching Professor of Neuroscience, Director of the Undergraduate Neuroscience ILM Biology rljone02@syr.edu 315.443.3962
Juneja Ankita Juneja Professor of Practice Biology ajuneja@syr.edu
donna-korol-portrait-original-2014.jpg Donna L. Korol Associate Professor Biology dlkorol@syr.edu 315.443.8780
Jamie Lamit Louis James (Jamie) Lamit Assistant Professor Biology ljlamit@syr.edu 315.443.3760
Lewis, Kate Final_QAy32xl.jpg Katharine (Kate) Lewis Professor and Biology Department Chair Biology kelewi02@syr.edu 315.443.5902
john-liu-newsconfernce-original.jpg Zhanjiang (John) Liu Professor, Biology Biology johnliu@syr.edu 315.443.2494
sarah_lucas_cropped Sarah Kathleen Lucas Assistant Professor Biology sklucas@syr.edu
Jessica MacDonald Jessica MacDonald Assistant Professor Biology jemacdon@syr.edu 315.443.5837
Eleanor-Maine.jpg Eleanor Maine Professor Biology emmaine@syr.edu 315.443.9169
vera-mcilvain-profile-original.jpg Vera McIlvain Associate Teaching Professor Biology vamcilva@syr.edu 315.443.3923
angela_oliverio.jpg Angela M. Oliverio Assistant Professor Biology amoliver@syr.edu
susan-parks-portrait-original.jpg Susan E. Parks Professor Biology sparks@syr.edu 315.443.4672
melissa-pepling-microscope.jpg Melissa E. Pepling Professor Biology mepeplin@syr.edu 315.443.4541
photo-not-available.jpg Ruth Phillips Assistant Teaching Professor and Biotechnology Program Advisor Biology rsphilli@syr.edu 315.443.3956
Scott Pitnick not-cropped.jpg Scott Pitnick Weeden Professor of Biology Biology sspitnic@syr.edu 315.443.5128
ramesh-raina-portrait-original.jpg Ramesh Raina Professor Biology raraina@syr.edu 315.443.2492
surabhi-raina-portrait-original.jpg Surabhi Raina Associate Teaching Professor Biology sraina@syr.edu 315.443.2057
Mark E. Ritchie Mark E. Ritchie Professor Biology meritchi@syr.edu 315.443.2479
Kari A. Segraves Kari A. Segraves Professor Biology ksegrave@syr.edu 315.443.4899
yassine-khalfalli-unsplash.jpg Robert B. Silver Professor Biology Forensic Science rbsilver@syr.edu 315.443.1328
Placeholder-500x.jpg Roy D. Welch Professor Biology rowelch@syr.edu 315.443.7197
michele-wheatly-portrait-original.JPG Michele G. Wheatly Professor and Special Advisor to the Chancellor Biology mwheatly@syr.edu 315.443.6123
jason-wiles-portrait-original-20190222.jpg Jason R. Wiles Associate Professor Biology jwiles01@syr.edu 315.443.3193

Part-Time Faculty

Mohammad Khairul Islam - Part Time Instructor.png_ulcZh2Y.jpg Mohammad Khairul Islam Part-Time Instructor Biology mkislam@syr.edu

Emeriti

john-belote-portrait-original.jpg John Belote Emeritus Professor Biology jbelote@syr.edu 315.443.3695
Chan, Samuel.jpg Samuel H.P. Chan Emeritus Professor Biology sachan@syr.edu 315.443.3182
marvin-druger-portrait-original.jpg Marvin Druger Emeritus Professor Biology mdruger@syr.edu 315.443.9150
anthony-garza-portrait-original.jpg Anthony Garza Professor Emeritus Biology agarza@syr.edu 315.443.4746
Richard L. Hallberg Richard L. Hallberg Emeritus Professor Biology hallberg@syr.edu 315.443.1104
george-langford-portrait-original.jpg George M. Langford Professor Emeritus of Biology Biology glangfor@syr.edu 315.443.7657
photo-not-available.jpg H. Richard Levy Emeritus Professor Biology hrlevy@syr.edu 315.443.3181
photo-not-available.jpg Samuel J. McNaughton Emeritus Professor Biology sjmcnaug@syr.edu N/A
photo-not-available.jpg John M. Russell Emeritus Professor Biology jrussell@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg William T. Starmer Emeritus Professor Biology wstarmer@syr.edu N/A
photo-not-available.jpg Larry L. Wolf Emeritus Professor Biology llwolf@syr.edu N/A

Faculty Affiliates

Jeffrey-Amack.jpg Jeffrey Amack Associate Research Professor amackj@upstate.edu 315.464.8507
Brian-Howell.jpg Brian W. Howell Associate Professor of Neuroscience and Physiology, Upstate Medical University howellb@upstate.edu 315.464.8154
Michael Marciano Michael Marciano Research Associate Professor and Director for FNSSI Research Forensic Science mamarcia@syr.edu 315.443.5279
Rick-Matthews-2022.jpg Dr. Russell (Rick) T. Matthews Research Associate Professor, Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Psychology SUNY Upstate matthewr@upstate.edu 315.464.7766
FMiddleton.png Frank Middleton Professor of Neuroscience and Physiology, Upstate Medical University middletf@upstate.edu 315.464.7721
mirna-skanata.jpg Mirna Mihovilovic Skanata Assistant Professor Physics mmihovil@syr.edu
Chilukuri-300x280.jpg Chilukuri Mohan Professor Electrical Engineering & Computer Science ckmohan@syr.edu 315.443.2322
Mozhdehi, Davoud.jpg Davoud Mozhdehi Associate Professor Chemistry dmozhdeh@syr.edu 315.443.3105
Screen Shot Olson 2022-03-28 at 12.24.21 PM_9dzbnJu.png Eric Olson Associate Research Professor, Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Physiology, SUNY Upstate olsone@upstate.edu 315.464.7776
Latha Ramalingam Latha Ramalingam Assistant Professor, Nutrition & Food Sciences lramalin@syr.edu 315.443.9324
dacheng-ren-portrait-original.jpg Dacheng Ren Professor, Biomedical & Chemical Engineering dren@syr.edu 315.443.4409
Ross-Jennifer.jpg Jennifer Ross Professor and Department Chair Physics jlross@syr.edu 315.443.3894
Tso_Daniel2019_uL2pgFO.jpg Daniel Tso Associate Research Professor, Director, Neurosurgery Research Laboratories, Associate Professor, Department of Neurosurgery, SUNY Upstate dan@tsolab.org 315.464.5531

Postdoctoral Researchers

photo-not-available.jpg Carla Frare Postdoctoral Researcher Biology cfrare@syr.edu 315.443.3186
photo-not-available.jpg Dongya Gao Research Associate Biology dgao09@syr.edu 315.443.4750
photo-not-available.jpg Maria Ow Postdoctoral Researcher Biology mcow@syr.edu 315.443.3186
Singh-Deepjyoti.jpg Deepjyoti Singh Postdoctoral Researcher Biology dsingh12@syr.edu 315.443.3186
Ashis Sinha.jpg Ashis Sinha Postdoctoral Researcher: MacDonald Lab Biology assinha@syr.edu
Zeeshan-syed-portrait-bw.jpg Zeeshan Syed Research Associate Biology zesyed@syr.edu 315.443.3186

Staff

David-Aldinger-DSC_4339.jpg David Aldinger Building/ Lab Coordinator Biology dealding@syr.edu 315.443.3239
Tracy-Brownell.png Tracy M. Brownell Operations Specialist Biology tmbrowne@syr.edu 315.443.3922
Kelly-Condon.jpg Kelly Condon Purchasing/ Grants Coordinator Biology kacondon@syr.edu 315.443.1360
Judy-Freshour.jpg Judy Freshour Lab Manager (Hehnly) Biology jrfresho@syr.edu 315.443.7197
Mary-Graziano-DSC_4494.jpg Mary Graziano BIO 121/123 Lab Manager Biology mgrazian@syr.edu 315.443.9179
photo-not-available.jpg Ginny Grieb Lab Assistant (Lewis) Biology gmgrieb@syr.edu 315.443.7253
sarah-hartmann.JPG Sarah Hartmann Graduate Academic Support Coordinator Biology sehartma@syr.edu 315.443.9154
Molly Kenyon Molly Kenyon Office Coordinator Biology mskenyon@syr.edu 315.443.3047
photo-not-available.jpg Angelica Kowalchuk Lab Assistant (MacDonald) Biology amkowalc@syr.edu 315.443.7253
Tina Orlando - Academic Coordinator.jpg Tina Orlando Large Class and TA Academic Coordinator Biology tiorland@syr.edu 315.443.3722
Erin Poole - Budget Support Associate.jpg Erin Poole Budget Administrator Biology eapoole@syr.edu 315.443.7682
photo-not-available.jpg Thomas Stack Lab Assistant (Fondy) Biology testack@syr.edu 315.443.2615
Billie Trapani Billie Trapani Undergraduate Academic Support Coordinator Biology batrapan@syr.edu 315.443.9139

Graduate Students

Dana Adcock Dana Adcock Graduate Student(Parks) Biology dladcock@syr.edu
Agarwala.jpeg Amisha Agarwala Graduate Student (Ahmed-Braimah) Biology aagarwal@syr.edu
stephen-ajayi.jpg Stephen Ajayi Graduate Student (Korol) Biology soajayi@syr.edu
Abrar-Aljiboury.jpeg Abrar (Abbi) Aljiboury Graduate Student (Hehnly) Biology aaatiyaa@syr.edu
Andonova, Antoaneta.jpg Antoaneta Andonova Graduate Student (J. Hewett) Biology aaandono@syr.edu 315.443.2913
Araldi-Brondolo, Sarah.jpg Sarah Araldi-Brondolo Graduate Student (Becklin) Biology sjaraldi@syr.edu
Arnell, Chris.jpg Christopher (CJ) Arnell Graduate Student (MacDonald) Biology carnell@syr.edu 315.443.7292
Asubonteng, Agnes.jpg Agnes Asubonteng Graduate Student (Pepling) Biology aaasubon@syr.edu
Karan Bhatt - Graduate Student.jpg Karan Bhatt Graduate Student (Dorus/Pitnick ) Biology kbhatt@syr.edu
Gwen-Bode.jpg Gwen Bode Graduate Student (Althoff) Biology gmbode@syr.edu
Sara Brigida Sara Brigada Graduate Student () Biology smbrigid@syr.edu
Eduardo-Caro.jpg Eduardo Caro Graduate Student (Welch/Garza) Biology eacaro@syr.edu
Joseph Colbert - Graduate Student.jpg Joseph Colbert Graduate Student (Coleman) Biology jbcolber@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Frances (Franki) Compere Graduate Student (Hall) Biology fvcomper@syr.edu 315.443.2972
James-Crill-portrait-lores.jpg James Crill Biology PhD student (Welch) Biology jcrillii@syr.edu 315.443.3569
Savannah Davis Savannah Davis Graduate Student () Biology sdavis46@syr.edu
Julia Dombroski - Graduate Student.jpg Julia Dombroski Graduate Student (Parks) Biology jribeiro@syr.edu
Clementine Harvey Clementine Harvey Graduate Student (Korol) Biology cfharvey@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg William Haws Graduate Student (Lewis) Biology wehaws@syr.edu 315.443.7253
Jiali-He.png Jiali He Graduate Student (S. Hewett) Biology jhe104@syr.edu 315.443.2743
Abigail-Hiltke.jpg Abigail Hiltke Graduate Student (Ritchie) Biology ahiltke@syr.edu
Hockenbury, Dominic.jpg Dominic Hockenbury Graduate Student (Ahmed-Braimah) Biology dghocken@syr.edu
Thomas Wayne Johnson Thomas Johnson Graduate Student (Segraves) Biology tjohns13@syr.edu 315.443.5449
Gagneet-Kaur.jpg Gagneet Kaur Graduate Student (Ahmed_Braimah) Biology gkaur02@syr.edu
Leanne Kelley Leanne Kelley Graduate Student (Maine) Biology lhkelley@syr.edu
trosporsha-khan_1gqktZO.jpg Trosporsha Khan Graduate Student (Welch) Biology trkhan@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Nasim Khatibi Graduate Student (MacDonald) Biology nkhatibi@syr.edu
Elise Krespan - Graduate Student.JPG Elise Krespan Graduate Student (Coleman) Biology emkrespa@syr.edu
Lan, Yiling.jpeg Yiling Lan Graduate Student (Hehnly) Biology ylan03@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Julie LeVonne Graduate Student (Fridley) Biology jvlevonn@syr.edu
Maisva, Takunda.jpg Takunda Maisva Graduate Student (Wiles) Biology tmaisva@syr.edu
Susan Moradi Nasab Susan Moradi Nasab Graduate Student () Biology smoradin@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Andrew Moura Graduate Student (Garner) Biology amoura@syr.edu
Favour-Ononiwu.jpg Favour Ononiwu Graduate Student (Castaneda) Biology fcononiw@syr.edu
Perez, Valeria.jpeg Valeria Perez Graduate Student (Parks) Biology vperez03@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Azam (Ava) Rastegarmoghadam Graduate Student () Biology arastega@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Olivia Rojo Nava Graduate Student (Oliverio) Biology orojonav@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Isabel Ross Graduate Student () Biology iross@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Amy Sauer Graduate Student () Biology aksauer@syr.edu
Nimshika Senewiratne Nimshika Senewiratne Graduate Student () Biology npsenewi@syr.edu
Rachel Shepherd Rachel Shepherd Graduate Student (Oliverio) Biology rmshephe@syr.edu
Dylan-Sims-West.jpg Dylan Sims-West Graduate Student (Pitnick/Dorus) Biology djsimswe@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Samantha Sutton Graduate Student (S. Hewett) Biology sosutton@syr.edu
Swidor, Colin.jpg Colin Swider Graduate Student (Parks) Biology cswider@syr.edu
Karma Thomas - Graduate Student.jpg Karma Thomas Graduate Student (Althoff) Biology kthoma06@syr.edu 315.443.8682
Dan Wang Dan Wang Graduate Student (Coleman) Biology dwang36@syr.edu
Peter-Wengert.jpg Peter Wengert Graduate Student (Dorus) Biology pwengert@syr.edu
Zeh, Julia.jpeg Julia Zeh Graduate Student (Parks) Biology jzeh01@syr.edu