Orange Alert

Skip to main content
Syracuse University, College of Arts and Sciences

African American Studies Faculty, Staff, and Students

Department Chair

 

Faculty

photo-not-available.jpg Joan Bryant Associate Professor African American Studies jobryant@syr.edu 315.443.4399
Horace Campbell Horace G Campbell Professor African American Studies Political Science hgcampbe@syr.edu 315.443.9353
linda-carty-portrait-original.JPG Linda Carty Associate Professor African American Studies lcarty@syr.edu 315.443.9345
Kishi Animashaun Ducre_2459.jpg Kishi Animashaun Ducre Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion A&S Administration A&S Dean's Cabinet African American Studies kanimash@syr.edu 315.443.9354
Casarae_Gibson_FULL.jpg Casarae Gibson Assistant Professor African American Studies clgib100@syr.edu 315.443.4426
Janis A. Mayes Janis A. Mayes Associate Professor African American Studies jamayes@syr.edu 315.443.9348
ruffin-herb-portrait-original.jpg Herbert G. Ruffin II Associate Professor and Department Chair African American Studies hruffin@syr.edu 315.443.3005
sn-sangmpam-portrait-original.jpg S. N. Sangmpam Professor African American Studies snsangm@syr.edu 315.443.9943
danielle-smith-portrait-original-1714.jpg Danielle T. Smith Professor African American Studies dsmith33@syr.edu
james-gordon-williams-portrait-original.jpg James Gordon Williams Assistant Professor African American Studies jgwillia@syr.edu 315.443.9184

Part-Time Faculty

photo-not-available.jpg Omanii Abdullah Part-Time Instructor African American Studies oabdulla@twcny.rr.com
photo-not-available.jpg Anne Margaret Childress Part-time Instructor African American Studies achildre@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Blair Proctor Part-time Instructor African American Studies bmprocto@syr.edu

Emeriti

photo-not-available.jpg Mincere Githae Mugo Emeritus Professor African American Studies mmmugo@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Milton C. Sernett Emeritus Professor African American Studies mcs5@mac.com

Faculty Affiliates

luvell-anderson-portrait-medres.jpg Luvell Anderson Assistant Professor Philosophy lander04@syr.edu 315.443.2536
himika-bhattacharya-portrait-lores2.jpg Himika Bhattacharya Associate Professor Women's and Gender Studies hbhattac@syr.edu 315.443.0283
peter-castro-portrait-original-2016.JPG A.H. Peter Castro Associate Professor Anthropology ahcastro@syr.edu 315.443.1971
raymond-francis-portrait-esf.jpg Raymond C. Francis Research Associate francis@esf.edu 315.470.6525
biko-mandela-gray-portrait-original.jpg Biko Mandela Gray Assistant Professor Religion bmgray@syr.edu 315.443.3863
Haddix-Marcelle.jpg Marcelle Haddix Dean's Professor, Reading and Language Arts you@syr.edu 315.443.9999
Jennifer-Jackson-RS725412-1639.jpg Jenn M. Jackson Assistant Professor, Political Science jjacks37@syr.edu 315.443.9802
tanisha-jackson.jpg Tanisha M. Jackson Professor of Practice Community Folk Art Center tjacks25@syr.edu 315.442.2230
PaulaJohnson.jpg Paula Johnson Professor of Law pcjohnso@syr.edu 315.443.3364
Gwen Pough 2018 headshot.jpg Gwendolyn D. Pough Professor and Department Chair Women's and Gender Studies gdpough@syr.edu 315.443.6745
james-haywood-rolling-portrait-lores.jpg James Haywood Rolling Jr. Professor jrolling@syr.edu 315.443.6779
zaline-RoyCampbell-portrait-lores.jpg Zaline Roy-Campbell Associate Professor zmroycam@syr.edu 315.443.8194
photo-not-available.jpg Bonnie Ryan Librarian - Main Library African American Studies bcryan@syr.edu 315.443.4674

Staff

Ajajielle Brown Ajajielle Brown Administrative Assistant I / Academic Advisor African American Studies aabrow02@syr.edu 315.443.5599
Regina Cole Regina Cole Office Coordinator III - Academic Year African American Studies recole@syr.edu 315.443.4302
Bethshebia Darby Bethshebia Darby Office coordinator II African American Studies bdarby@syr.edu 315.443.9349
Betty Reid Betty Reid Temporary- Library Assistant African American Studies blreid1@syr.edu 315.443.9349
photo-not-available.jpg Bonnie Ryan Librarian - Main Library African American Studies bcryan@syr.edu 315.443.4674
Placeholder-500x.jpg Angela A. Williams Librarian - Martin Luther King Library African American Studies aawillia@syr.edu 315.443.9349

Graduate Students

renee-brown.jpg Renee Brown M.A. Student, Pan African Studies African American Studies rbrown20@syr.edu 315.443.4302
campbell-rachel.jpg Rachel J. Campbell M.A. Student, Pan African Studies African American Studies rjcampbe@syr.edu 315.443.4302
carr-courtney.png Courtney Carr M.A. Student, Pan African Studies African American Studies cpcarr@syr.edu 315.443.4302
munroe-chivonne.jpg Chivonne Munroe M.A. Student, Pan African Studies African American Studies cjmunroe@syr.edu 315.443.4302
pratt-shontoria.png Shontoria Pratt M.A. Student, Pan African Studies African American Studies sdpratt@syr.edu 315.443.4302
Spencer-Stultz-.jpg Spencer Stultz M.A. Student, Pan African Studies African American Studies slstultz@syr.edu 315.443.4302